June: Month in Review

This month revolved around three major things: a new puppy, freelance writing, and VBS! First of all, my parents surprised my brother and I on June 2nd by coming home with a puppy: Sophie, a seven-month-old beagle/basset hound mix. Even though she’s not housebroken, she bites a lot, and she’s super antisocial with anyone outside the family, it’s been SO GREAT having a dog again. I love being woken up at 6:30 every morning with puppy kisses, and having a furry little shadow wherever I go (unless my mom is home–Sophie loves Mom the best), and laughing hysterically when Sophie chases the laser pointer or falls over her own feet–both of which happen a lot (she’s not the brightest bulb in the box). I tried to narrow down the pictures:

 

The second thing that made up a big part of my month was freelance writing. It was my first month working for the CrossFit company that I now write for, and it was a really great month! I also identified and reached out to 40+ locally-owned businesses that might be potential clients, and I spent a lot of time educating myself more about freelance writing. All in all, this month was like drinking through a fire hose, but I loved it.

Third, we had VBS at our church–the best week of the year! I always teach music with Meghan, a friend from out of town. This year, we’d dance onstage for the opening Worship Rally; hang out/eat/talk/plan the day for forty-five minutes; teach four twenty-minute choreography classes to varying age groups; and then I’d go help in the nursery for forty-five minutes. We had 70-80 kids every day, which is a really fantastic number for our church, and five kids accepted Christ. Physically I felt pretty awful the whole week, but it was still so fun and rewarding!

 

Other fun things I did this month: bought a bunch of new clothes, went to a VBS promo event at church, had a Panera picnic at the Roswell Mill with my dad, went to lunch (at Panera) and shopping with my friend Madeleine, went to a local church’s college church service and then to Dunkin Donuts with my friend Cari, went to the splash pad with the kids my mom keeps, went to an outdoor mall with several friends, had lunch (at Panera) with my friend Brooke N, saw an outdoor movie (Fantastic Beasts) and got fro-yo with my best friend Hannah and then had a sleepover involving Harry Potter and lunch (at Panera), went to the birthday party of a little girl at church, went to dinner at–you guessed it–Panera with my friend Cari, met our friends’ new baby that was born this month!!, went to a fun museum with the kids my mom nannies and then to to Panera with my brother, and went to Lake Winnie (a theme park/waterpark in Tennessee) for a day with our friends to celebrate Joshua’s birthday. (Oh yeah, my brother turned 12 this month, so give him a shout-out in the comments!)

 

This month I’m…

Reading: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, Jenny Han (ew). The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern (brilliant). The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, Mary Ann Shaffer. When Dimple met Rishi, Sandhya Menon (ew). Strange the Dreamer, Laini Taylor. Through Gates of Splendor, Elisabeth Elliott. Under the Lilacs, Louisa May Alcott (SO CHARMING AND PERFECT). 7 total (I KNOW, I’M A FAILURE. In my defense, I learned this month that puppies drastically decrease productivity).

Writing: In addition to all the freelance writing I already mentioned, I submitted to ten contests/magazines/websites, five of which required writing something new. Also I was supposed to be outlining my NaNo novel, but I didn’t really lol so YAY JULY.

Listening to: Messengers, Jared and the Mill. Summertime Romance, JohnnySwim. First Try, JohnnySwim. (Honestly, just the entire Georgica Pond album by JohnnySwim, over and over and over.) Glorious Day, Passion. Yorktown (The World Turned Upside Down), Hamilton. Elohim, Hillsong Worship. Beautiful Day, Joshua Radin.

Watching: Chili Shi’s vlogs. Kate Cunningham’s videos. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (actually for the first time). The Making of Harry Potter, 1 & 2. Jordan Taylor’s vlogs. Alex Puccio: The Comeback Episode #1. The Season: Ole Miss Softball – Leaving a Legacy (Part One).

Loving: Is Writing a Real Job? by Tessa (guest post, Notebooks and Novels). what now by Elizabeth (chasing moonlight). dear people who have heard of this living, breathing human called a teen girl by Emma (Emma Grace Carter). What Millennials Need in the Church More Than Anything by Amanda (Scattered Journal Pages). eyes by Clara (The Zephyr). number six. by Lynden (-love lynden.). Having Compassion on Other People’s Petty Complaints When You Have a Chronic Illness by Sara (Romans 5:3-5). excerpts of life by Olivia (summer of 1999).

I blogged five times this month: You Can Do This (Book Review), Writing Tag!, Hailey Rants About Entitlement (or, Get Over It), How I #liveBANGS! (which won third place in the Bangs blog contest!), and June: Love (Fruits of the Spirit project, Month #1!)

Grateful for: Lying on Joshua’s bed with him and Sophie, watching I Love Lucy on the laptop. Taking a free online college astronomy course. Seeing a full rainbow on a few different days. Everything about Sophie (okay–almost everything). Lying on the floor on the stage at church, laughing hysterically with Meghan and almost choking on my Jolly Rancher. Sitting on the floor in the hallway with the two toddlers at church, feeding them ice cream and having conversations (in full sentences). Planning a trip to Savannah this fall! Many consecutive nights of long texting conversations with a friend, discussing how much we want another one of our friends to be saved–like, YES, this is the kind of deep friendship I’ve always wanted. Also, big things are coming, starting in early August–stay tuned for more details (if you live near me) about ROOTED! Overall June was a fantastic month and could not have been better!

What did you do in June? Do you have a dog? Can you believe it’s Independence Day weekend already? Cuz I sure can’t.

19 thoughts on “June: Month in Review

  1. SOPHIE! IS! SO! CUTE!! WHAT THE HECK. Puppies are so much fun and also a ton of work. :”) I made the mistake of never socializing my puppy and now she hates literally everyone except her family lololol help. Sounds like your June was totally fantastic!! I hope July is just as awesome! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read somewhere that your puppy is supposed to meet 100 people before they’re 12 weeks old and I just laughed because who has that many friends? Answer: NOT ME. Sophie is seven months now and she’s met approximately three people, all of whom she hated. Lol thanks for reading!

      Like

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury

    AWWW YOUR PUPPY IS THE ABSOLUTE CUTEST!! My dog is super antisocial too..haha.😂 He has zero excuse but he’s still a cute floof so I love him. And yay for many good happenings this month! Sounds like you were super busy too. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m curious — why did When Dimple met Rishi get an “ew?” I’ve heard awesome things about it but now maybe I’m not as interested in reading it depending on what your opinion is…

    And I don’t have a dog! I don’t have any pets, and never had. o.o

    katie grace
    a writer’s faith

    Like

    1. I had heard awesome things about it too, but then it ended up not being my thing! The story is about these two teens who are at a contest to develop an app, but the book hardly talks about the app at all–it’s just the teens making out. I think it really depends on if you like that genre; it was very romance-heavy, and I’m not into that. It was well-written, but the content just wasn’t really my thing. =)

      Like

  4. Audrey Caylin

    Your puppy is SO CUTE. I’ve been seeing the videos on Instagram and have been just dying over the cuteness factor XD

    And happy birthday to your brother!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sophie is so cute! She looks so sweet and cuddly. 🙂 Happy birthday Joshua! My little brother’s name happens to be Joshua as well, but he’s only three. You always manage to make your posts so lovely and simple! God bless, 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The number of people at your VBS sounds amazing. I attend two churches– one in the school year and the other in the summer, but the one in the summer has been struggling in numbers so in some years past, they had to cancel the session. And hey, like I said before, it’s never too late to catch up with NaNo!

    xoxo Abigail Lennah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was pretty amazing for us, since we average 100-ish people on a Sunday morning. There’s a church near us that has VBS for two weeks because they have 800 kids (eight. hundred. WHAT). Thanks– I’m trying my best to catch up! 🙂

      Like

    1. Aw, a miniature beagle sounds SO cute! But yeah, my beagle growls at anyone who comes over. XD I go to Panera too much, lol, but I’ve actually never had a bread bowl there! They look so good though.

      Like

  7. Celeste

    Love reading about your month in review! And glad that we were a small part of some your fun. Happy Birthday to Joshua!!! He’s a lucky guy to have you as his sister!!! Prayers for continued success and opportunities for freelance writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sara

    Puppies and VBS! Sounds like fun! 😀 And happy birthday to your brother! I love reading through these monthly posts of yours, Hailey. 🙂 And thanks for the shoutout!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

