Writing Tag!

Laura at FlowersInMyBasket tagged me (a long time ago… oops) in a super-fun writing tag that I can’t wait to share! Go here to read her answers (and follow her blog while you’re at it), and keep scrolling to read mine!

1. What genres, styles, and topics do you write about?

alllll.gif

Um. EVERYTHING? The three genres I write the most are probably YA contemporary, YA dystopian, and historical fiction. I also can’t write a story without including the sky/the stars/astronomy in at least some small way.

2. How long have you been writing?

The first “story” (I use the term very loosely) that I ever wrote was when I was around four; I dictated it to my mom. Things just took off from there, I guess, and I’ve been writing feverishly ever since!

3. Why do you write?

I write because I can’t NOT write. Seriously, I’ve tried to stop writing before, and it was torture. Stories just won’t stop writing themselves in my head, and I have to get them out. I write because I love words, I’m passionate about stories, and I have a lot to say.

4. When is the best time to write?

I write best either first thing in the morning (because I’m more likely to be awake and alert) or very late at night (because the house is quiet and it’s dark and I don’t know, I just feel super creative when I’m supposed to be asleep?).

5. What parts of writing do you love? What parts do you hate?

I actually LOVE editing. Like, seriously. I know a lot of people hate it, but I really enjoy fine-tuning my stories and watching the end products come together. As for what I hate, I don’t hate plot bunnies themselves, but I hate that I allow myself to get distracted by them. 🙂

6. How do you overcome writer’s block?

edmund

ronn.gif
(I couldn’t choose between Edmund and Ron, so enjoy them both.)

You’re asking me this? Uhm. I don’t? Like, seriously, I’m the worst at this because I just quit writing and get up and walk away. I once read that Gail Levine said you should “write junk” when you’re stuck–open a blank document and just type whatever comes to mind. “My thumb itches and it looks like it’s about to rain. I will never forgive J.K. Rowling for killing so many of my favorite people. I have a ton of homework to do.” Which is a great idea in theory, but I don’t actually do it.

7. Are you working on something at the moment?

Yes! Outside of my writing job and entering short fiction into some contests, I’m outlining my novel for camp. (EEP.) I’m supposed to be editing Angelica, but I’m–not. Things are so crazy right now with my new job and a new puppy and VBS coming up at church that I decided to just focus on preparing for NaNo.

8. What are your writing goals for this year?

Refer to this post!

Since I waited so long, it looks like pretty much everyone has already been tagged for this one. If you haven’t been and you want to do it, be my guest! Regardless, choose your two favorite questions and answer them in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Writing Tag!

  1. The first story story is so cute. What exactly was the story about? Also, no need to decide on Ron and Edmund– they’re both adorable in every way.

    J.K. Rowling killing many of her major characters, oh my gosh. xD

    xoxo Abigail Lennah | ups & downs

    Like

Leave a Reply

