Fruit of the Spirit Project: Overview!

I’m starting a new project that I’m SO excited about!! For the next nine months, I’m going to focus on one of the fruits of the Spirit every month. I’ll pray about it, read about it, and look for practical ways to apply it in my everyday life. At the end of the month, I’ll put up a post recapping how things went and what I learned. The schedule will be as follows: June–love; July–joy; August–peace; September–patience; October–kindness; November–goodness; December–faithfulness; January–gentleness; February–self-control. I’m honestly SO stoked to dive into this project and grow more like Jesus. And there’s more: I want to invite you to join me!

fruta

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. Against such things there is no law.” –Galatians 5:22-23

Here’s a lil more context: right before these verses, we’re told that the flesh and the Spirit are contrary. Since we have sin natures, it’s not natural or easy for us to display these qualities–BUT, when we accept salvation, we have the Holy Spirit! “You do not do what you want” (v 17)–I definitely want to display the fruits of the Spirit, but I fail every day.

Also, we’re told in verses 19-21 the things we shouldn’t do:

 “The acts of the flesh are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.”

We’re told to crucify these things (v 24) and to live in step with the Spirit. As my family would tell you, I’m not a pleasant person to live with–daily, I fail to show the fruits of the Spirit. So I’m asking God to work in me in these specific ways each month!

Again, I’d love for you to join me! In June I’ll be focusing on love (I think it’s no coincidence that love comes first–but more on that later). Like I said, I’ll be praying about how to display love, I’ll be reading verses and listening to sermons on love, and I’ll be looking for ways to show love to others. At the end of the month I’ll be back with everything that happened and what I learned about showing love, and I’d love (HA) (sorry) to hear what you learned as well. Then in July, we’ll kick off with joy!

Two final side notes: one, go read Galatians 5 in its entirety because I can’t get enough of it. And two, stay tuned for Month in Review later this week, because I have a heck ton of exciting writing news coming up–like, I just signed a royalties agreement for my book that’s being published. Whaaaaat?!

If you’re planning to join me on my Fruit of the Spirit project, comment below!

9 thoughts on “Fruit of the Spirit Project: Overview!

  1. Pingback: July: Joy (Fruit of the Spirit project, Month #2) – Now All I Know is Grace

  2. Pingback: June: Love (Fruits of the Spirit project, Month #1!) – Now All I Know is Grace

  3. Pingback: May: Month in Review – Now All I Know is Grace

Leave a Reply

