10 Great Books You’ve Probably Never Heard Of (but need to read) (because they’re great)

You can thank me later for extending your TBR list. These are ten of my very favorite books, and I can’t wait to share them with you!

  1. The Emily series (LM Montgomery)

I’m sure you’ve heard of Anne of Green Gables and the books that follow it, but L. M. Montgomery wrote another series that’s just as good (if not better) than the Anne chronicles. The thing I love about the Emily series is that Emily is an aspiring writer–just like me, and just like many of you reading this! However, she was an aspiring writer over a hundred years ago, making me very glad that I have Microsoft Word and Pinterest and Facebook support groups.

emily

2. Heat, Mike Lupica

Knowing me, we obviously couldn’t get through this list without a good baseball book! Even if you’re not into baseball, this is just a great, well-told story with a central theme of never giving up.

heat

3. Under the Baseball Moon, John H Ritter

Again–even if you’re not a baseball person, you’ll still love this book. It’s a classic summer story, full of jazz music, skateboarding, and beaches. There’s a touch of magical realism and a girl who loves softball and it’s all wrapped up in a little California town: no better formula for a good book!

baseball

4. Room in the Heart, Sonia Levitin

Of course we also couldn’t get through this list without a Holocaust book. I’m a nerd about the Holocaust and particularly about Denmark and the Danish resistance, and this is a very well-researched historical fiction account of a girl who “will risk everything to protect the people [she] hold[s] closest to her heart.”

room

5. Seven Alone, Honore Willsie Morrow

I LOVE books about the Oregon Trail, and I LOVE books about orphaned siblings taking care of each other–so this one is a win-win! I have my mom’s tattered and marked-up copy that she read in junior high, and I’ve read it so many times over the years–it’s definitely inspired many of my own stories.

sevennn

6. My Vicksburg, Ann Rinaldi 

Here’s another one of my all-time favorites. I’ve always been a big Ann Rinaldi fan, and I think this is my favorite book of hers–a tale of a young girl’s survival during the siege of Vicksburg (plus I’ve been to the battlefield at Vicksburg so that was super cool).

vicksburg

7. Risky Gospel, Owen Strachan

Ugh, SO GOOD. I really can’t say enough about this book. If you want to be on fire for the Lord–read it.

risky

8. Little Men, Louisa May Alcott

In the spirit of being completely honest and forthcoming, I didn’t know this book existed until three or four months ago, but it has taken its rightful place on my shelf of favorite books. Practically everyone has heard of Little Women, but I think it’s a shame that few people know about Little Men, a charming story of the orphan school that Jo March runs as an adult (I want to be Jo March when I grow up).

littlemen

9. Guitar Notes, Mary Amato

Many of this book’s Goodreads reviews say that it’s a “light, fun read”–which is true. But it’s also true that it made me cry, and not many books can do that! It’s a sweet little friendship story cocooned in cello concerts and school practice rooms and, well, guitar notes. Read it. You’ll see.

guitar

10. The Chosen, Chaim Potok

From what I’ve heard, many people have had to read this book for school. I discovered it on my own several years ago, and ever since, it has remained in the top five or six books that I name whenever someone asks me my favorite book (and believe me, that’s a hard list to get on). If you’ve been assigned this for school, don’t go into it expecting a boring schoolbook. This is a fantastic story and everyone needs to read it at least once in their life.

chosen

Have you heard of and/or read any of these books? What are some of your favorite lesser-known books? Let’s chat!

9 thoughts on “10 Great Books You’ve Probably Never Heard Of (but need to read) (because they’re great)

  1. papertigertale

    Nope, I haven’t heard of any of these…except Little Men! Emily’s Quest looks great though, I didn’t realize LM Montgomery had other famous characters other than Anne, I’d love to read Emily’s Quest 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMW You have terrific literature tastes! The only one I know I’ve read is The Chosen, and I *think* I’ve read Heat, but I’m not sure. The other ones all look FANTASTIC though, and I’m looking forward to reading them!

    Like

  3. Pingback: May: Month in Review – Now All I Know is Grace

  4. OH MY GOSSSHHHHH I love the Emily series! Emily’s not as extravagant as Anne but she is still one of my favorite characters (and also the ending of Emily’s Quest because of Teddy’s whistling makes me squeal every single time). Jane of Lantern Hill is another favorite of mine by Montgomery, although it is more suited towards a younger audience since unlike Anne of Green Gables and Emily’s Quest, Jane is featured in one book and still relatively young towards the end.

    Also, Ann Rinaldi is by far one of my favorite historical fiction authors. I love her books, but I do admit I need to read more of them.

    xoxo Abigail Lennah

    Like

Leave a Reply

