Woodstock with Madeleine (Summer Bucketlist 2017!)

This wasn’t one of my (many) pre-scheduled blog posts for the month of May, but my friend Madeleine and I had such a fun adventure yesterday that I just have to share about it anyway!

I recently made a list of things I want to do/adventures I want to have this summer (see below), and one of those things was exploring downtown Woodstock–a cute little town about an hour away from where I live–with my friend Madeleine.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Madeleine came to my house yesterday morning, we piled all our stuff into my little car, and we were off! Surprisingly enough, we didn’t even get lost (I’m known for being very directionally challenged). We spent the drive there catching up, and when we arrived in Woodstock, we went to several cute little boutiques.

One of the shopkeepers recommended the taqueria across the street, so we crossed the railroad tracks to find some food. Sadly, the Pie Bar and the Cupcakery–both places that we’d been planning to hit up after lunch–were both closed on Mondays. So we visited some more stores after lunch (including one filled with hippie-esque merchandise that had a very creepy basement. When in Woodstock, I guess). We also found some cute walls and murals!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

There was a fro-yo place that was supposed to open at 2 PM, so we sat in a little garden for a while, waiting for it to open. The weather couldn’t have been more perfect yesterday.

When the fro-yo shop never opened, we were forced to go to the Copper Coin next door. What a hardship.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

We left Woodstock and headed home, singing along to the WOW Hits 2017 CD; along the way, we stopped at an antiques shop (that ended up being closed–everywhere was closed yesterday), a thrift shop, and a cute little produce shop where I commiserated with the owner about trying to make a resume when you have nothing to put on it and bought Fanta in a glass bottle. We also swung by the house I lived in for the first six years of my life. It was such a fun day!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The best part of yesterday? I felt physically pretty good all day. I had a similar day out with friends last December where I was on my feet all day, and I came home with a huge headache and promptly fell asleep–which has been the norm for well over a year now. But yesterday, after a busy weekend and a long day, I came home and worked on a freelance writing job. Then I went to softball practice, and I really felt fine and had plenty of energy to get me through all of it. Maybe the new vitamins I’ve been taking are working after all!

If you live near me, have you ever been to Woodstock? If you don’t, are there any cute little Main Streets near your house? Would you rather go to the Pie Bar or the Cupcakery? 

10 thoughts on “Woodstock with Madeleine (Summer Bucketlist 2017!)

  1. Pingback: May: Month in Review – Now All I Know is Grace

  2. Pingback: Writing Plan/Schedule/Goals: Summer 2017! – Now All I Know is Grace

  3. Cait @ Paper Fury

    Ohh this looks so fab!! I love the photos and that town looks super cute! I would definitely love to go to…both?! I live pie and cupcakes so much.😂 Yay for lovely days with friends!

    Like

  4. Brenda Tanner

    Hailey–for you next adventure–let me tell you that many small towns have shops that are closed on Mon. Up toward Blue RIdge, some places are just open Thurs.- Sun.

    IF you go to Acworth, Track side grill is good and there is a good Mexican place–name escapes me now.

    I enjoyed your blog.

    On Tue, May 9, 2017 at 10:46 AM, Now All I Know is Grace wrote:

    > haileyhudson posted: “This wasn’t one of my (many) pre-scheduled blog > posts for the month of May, but my friend Madeleine and I had such a fun > adventure yesterday that I just have to share about it anyway! I recently > made a list of things I want to do/adventures I want to hav” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

