Blue Sky Tag

First I just have to say, I FINISHED HIGH SCHOOL THIS MORNING. Whoop. Next, shout out to Anna from Northern Hearts Alaska for tagging me (go follow her fantastic blog!). I can’t wait to take a crack at these questions!

Why do you write? I write because I have to. Seriously, I’ve tried to stop writing before, and it was torture. Stories just won’t stop writing themselves in my head, and I have to get them out. I write because I love words, I’m passionate about stories, and I have a lot to say.

Do you have a favorite genre to write and why? For years I focused on writing historical fiction because I love history, but to be completely honest, it’s a lot of research and I’m lazy. I’d rather just read historical fiction that other people have written. So these days, I’ve been trying my hand at contemporary and dystopian and really enjoying both! I’ve tried fantasy lately too, but I’m really terrible at it, so props to all you fantasy worldbuilders. You’re talented. 

What or who got you writing? What got me writing was the great Sonlight (homeschool curriculum) books that I read every day when I was younger. I’ve been obsessed with reading from an early age, and I think that the tales of missionaries in foreign jungles are what really fueled my imagination and put endless stories into my head for the first time ten years ago.

What is your favorite book and why? Do you mean, what’s my favorite child and why? The first thing that comes to mind at the moment is Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo (here’s my Goodreads review of this gem). Also, Mitch and Amy by Beverly Cleary–my copy fell apart a few years ago because I loved it so much. ALSO, The Outsiders by S. E. Hinton–it’s the best. OH MY GOSH, and The Green Glass Sea and its sequel. I’ll stop now.

If you could live anywhere in the United States, where would it be? I’ve always wanted to live in Montana or Colorado or just some state in that area with beautiful mountains. I think I’d also enjoy living in California.

montana
Seriously–who wouldn’t want to live here?! (x)

What is your favorite movie? Either The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, or Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, or Charlotte’s Web.

vodt
(x)

Chocolate or candy (think Sour Patch Kids, peppermints, etc.)? Chocolate! Unless, of course, the candy is Jellie Bellies. They trump everything.

Where do you get inspiration from? *whispers guiltily* Pinterest. (I’m pretty proud of my Stories to be Told board and my Writing Prompts board.) Seriously though, I’m trying to stop getting my inspiration from the Internet. Visiting new places, being out in nature, and people-watching inspire me. Also, I actually get a ton of story ideas from school–especially from history class, even though I don’t really write much historical fiction anymore!

What is your favorite historical era? The Holocaust/WWII, but all of history fascinates me.

Tea or coffee? Coffee, of course.

What is your favorite verse and why? This changes sometimes, but Isaiah 61:1-4 has always been one of my favorite passages (seriously–take a minute and read it down below. So beautiful and full of so much truth), and right now Psalm 119:45 (“I will walk in freedom”) also means a lot to me because I’ve been learning about freedom lately and what that looks/feels like in my life.

The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me, because the Lord has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners. To proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn, and provide for those who grieve in Zion–to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of joy instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair. They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting on the Lord for the display of His splendor. They will rebuild the ancient ruins and restore the places long devastated; they will renew the ruined cities that have been devastated for generations.

Isaiah 61:1-4

I tag:

Hanne @rockandminerals4him

Esther @An Indefatigable Little Scribbler

Jazzy @thriving hope

Sarah @Sisters Squared

Esther @the412project

Leah @Lead Me to Wisdom

Jess @The Artful Author

Angela @The Peculiar Messenger

Savannah Grace @Scattered Scribblings

Grace @True and Pure

Sara @my hearts revival

Full disclaimer: if you have zero time or tags aren’t your thing or you don’t like these questions, feel free to skip this tag! It’s not mandatory at all. If you DO do the tag, the rules are as follows: thank the person who tagged you and answer their 11 questions, then tag 11 more people and give them 11 questions to answer. (And if I didn’t tag you but you’d like to participate, please do! I had trouble narrowing it down to only 11 people.)

  1. Why did you start your blog?
  2. If you could have dinner with any one person who’s alive right now, who would you choose?
  3. Favorite book of the Bible and why?
  4. Favorite music genre to listen to?
  5. What’s your earliest memory?
  6. What job would you be great at, and what job would you be horrible at?
  7. Dream vacation spot?
  8. When writing, are you a plotter or a pantser? (fyi- plotters have a detailed outline beforehand, and pantsers [me] just make it up as they go along!)
  9. What makes you angry?
  10. What accomplishments in your life are you most proud of?
  11. What has God been teaching you lately?

Your job: whether or not I tagged you, choose three questions from anywhere in this post and answer them in the comment section!

13 thoughts on “Blue Sky Tag

  1. Pingback: May: Month in Review – Now All I Know is Grace

Leave a Reply

