Q&A + Giveaway Winner

Make sure to stay tuned to the end of this post for the winner of the giveaway!

From Leah C:

What is your favorite animal? Definitely a dolphin. I also love dogs and tigers and really all animals.

Are you a night or morning person? I used to be a huge morning person; I’d get up at 5:30 every day. Since I got sick, I have become neither a morning bird or a night owl–I’m some form of permanently exhausted pigeon. (Yes, I stole that from Pinterest. But it fits.)

What is your favorite season? Fall! Something about the gorgeous leaves and bonfires and warm sweaters… love love love.

fullsizerender

Any special plans for this summer? My plan for this summer is to not have a plan. 🙂 I’m going to write a children’s novel and teach music at VBS and go swimming a lot. I’m also going to begin working closely with an organization called Next Generation Focus that tutors underprivileged kids (it’s looking like this ministry will be a huge part of my life for the next year, so I’ll share more later!).

Where do you usually go to write (library, coffee shop, your room…)? I’m not super picky about where I write as long as I’m alone. I can’t write at the library or a coffee shop–even though those are two of my favorite places in the world–because I get distracted so easily. So I normally end up writing at my desk or on my bed (except if I’m in bed I end up falling asleep, haha).

From Esther:

What is your favorite book in the Bible, and favorite book outside the Bible? My favorite book of the Bible is either James or Esther. James has so much wisdom packed into just a few pages, and I’ve always loved the story of Esther because of how we can see God working behind the scenes. I have SO MANY favorite books outside the Bible… the first few that come to mind are The Chosen by Chaim Potok, The Chronicles of NarniaHarry Potter, and the Anne of Green Gables chronicles by L.M. Montgomery. Oh, and Outcasts United by Warren St. John.

Do you prefer letters or emails? Letters! I use email more often, though.

What is your favorite baseball team? The Braves–gotta be loyal to the hometown team even though it’s been a rough few seasons.

What is the biggest thing God has been teaching you lately? I love this question! I’ve been learning that not only am I saved by grace, I am also sustained and held by grace. From studying the book of Joshua, I’m learning that victory is assured when one is called by God–not because of our competency, but rather because He will be with us. I’m learning that He is my competence and I don’t have to have it all together (2 Corinthians 3:5). I’ve been reading and thinking a lot about how the church should react to poverty, and I can feel my heart being stirred towards something more, but I’m not quite sure what. (That was more than one thing… oops.)

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

What is your favorite “old” band? I don’t like any bands from the 70’s, 80’s, or 90’s, so I guess I’ll throw it all the way back to the 40’s and go with the Andrews Sisters or Glenn Miller’s orchestra!

Mechanical pencils or wooden pencils? Mechanical, always. I’ll do just about anything to get out of using a regular pencil.

What do you do when you are bored? I’m rarely bored, but when I am, my first reaction is either to pick up a book or play catch with my brother!

What is one place that is on your bucket list to go to someday? Any of those little Eastern European countries that were involved in WWII and the Holocaust–Denmark, Austria, Poland, etc. I’ve always been utterly fascinated by them.

If your name was not Hailey, what would you want it to be? Miriam, Elise, Rebekah, or Caroline! (I’ve actually given this matter a great deal of thought over the years, haha.)

What is your favorite Joshua quote? I don’t think I can choose just one! I’ll give several and you choose your favorite. 🙂 (These are all from when he was younger.)

Joshua: Mom, you are the cutest cutest mommy that I ever ever seened. You are so reasonable and cute. I really like you pretty much.

Joshua: I don’t want to have eyebrows because they stick to me. I want to take them off.

Joshua: I used to be in college, but now I’m in preschool.

Dad: What did God put in the sky after Noah’s flood? Joshua: Cowboys.

 

Joshua: If only I was eighteen–then I could stay home alone and clean the baseboards.

Joshua: Ice cream doesn’t go with whiskey.

Mom: The chicken I made for dinner tonight is executed differently than normal. Joshua: Does that mean it got its head chopped off with a sword instead of an axe?

And finally, once Joshua was playing baseball in the backyard and hit the window with a plastic ball. He said, “I didn’t mean to hit the window, Mom. I thought Jake was going to do one of his spectacular catches.” Jake was Joshua’s imaginary friend.

From Joshua (my brother):

What is your deepest and darkest fear? Do you really think I’m going to tell you? You live across the hall. I don’t want it coming back to haunt me.

Why do you never have time to play a game with us? I’m taking four college classes and I work three jobs and I play travel softball AND I have a chronic autoimmune disease that means I’m incredibly tired and feel awful all the time. So–I’m just a tad bit busy. Hopefully once I’ve graduated high school and gotten my VO and writing careers a little higher off the ground, I’ll be able to play more board games.

Why do you not like spaghetti? I have no idea, but just reading the word makes me gag.

From Anna:

What is your dream vacation? I’m pretty easy to please–beach, mountains, it all sounds great. Just somewhere with a beautiful view, a good book, and no agenda. Like I said earlier, I’d love to visit Eastern Europe!

If you could live anywhere, where would it be and why? Colombia, because that country completely stole my heart five years ago. It was so hard to sit at home this week while everyone else was there. I’d want to live in either the small town in the mountains mentioned in the latter half of this post, or in a very specific part of Bogota near some very specific people.

What is your favorite Disney movie(s)? Is it bad that I had to Google “Disney movies,” and then I’d seen only one of all the movies that popped up? That one is Fantasia; I have a vague memory of watching it at my grandparents’ house years ago. So I guess I’ll go with that!

 

Out of 339 entries, the winner of the giveaway is… Sarah H! Sarah, I sent you an email–answer with your mailing address and I’ll send you your Starbucks gift card 🙂 Thanks to everyone who entered!

Your job: choose your favorite three questions from this post and answer them in the comment section! 

9 thoughts on “Q&A + Giveaway Winner

  1. Pingback: April: Month in Review – Now All I Know is Grace

  2. Sarah H

    Wow! 😀 Thanks for the giveaway. I emailed you back but could you confirm that you got it? I’m not sure if my email went through. 🙂 Thanks!

    Like

  3. addy thompson

    this is too funny to me, because your brother is a joy and a pickle and baseball stories tickle me to death.
    glad these words could make me laugh today. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

