February: Month in Review

What a month it’s been! To kick things off, our best friends from Alabama were in town and they stayed the night with us, which was so fun. I turned 18 on the 11th (a Saturday). I felt really awful all day, but my mom and I saw La La Land (FINALLY) and my brother made me a really great dinner and my friends were all super sweet and thoughtful.

Homework was manageable (lol except for the history exam that I thought was a week later than it actually was) and I was consistently productive–yay! Physically, things were up and down, but I did get in some good workouts. There was lots of hysterical laughter at dinner with my family each night; we visited North Greenville University, which was AMAZING (I can’t stop thinking about how much I liked it); and I lost my driver’s license and didn’t go anywhere for half the month. Ha. I went to a cute little town square with some new friends for a photoshoot. I’m completely in love with the way the pictures came out–if you live near me and you need photos done, Sally is your girl.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

My best friend Hannah slept over; we played board games, watched Harry Potter, went to Barnes and Noble, and SAW NEWSIES.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

It’s been a theater kind of a month–lots of Newsies and Dear Evan Hansen and Wicked and In The Heights and other showtunes playing, and getting a bunch of stuff ready for a talent show and an audition next month.

This month I’m…

Loving: let’s stop being so dark for no reason, furious ever afters. Thy Will, Olivia Shay. To the messy girls. This is for you, TheLittleBrittBlog. yes, i ate the bagel but…, My story. His purpose. 7 Tips for Rewriting Your Old Stories, Write for the King. fictional guys i’d totally marry, inklings press. if we want to read the thing, maybe we should write it ourselves, to the barricade. Peanut Music, Sean of the South. full heart, Totally Graced. 10/10 recommend giving all of these amazing posts a read!

I blogged four times this month: if that’s what you wanted, YOU are NOT alone, 7 REASONS WHY YOU SHOULD BE OBSESSED WITH NEWSIES + how to serve others 🙂, and longing to have more of You. You can go read my posts too 😉

Watching: Morgan Yates’s old vlogs. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, parts 1 & 2The Atheist Delusion. Newsies backstage vlogs circa 2012.

Reading: Blood of Olympus, Rick Riordan (reread). Under a Painted Sky, Stacey Lee (it was AMAZING–the accidentally-stay-up-until-midnight, cry-your-eyes-out, make-dying-whale-noises-when-it-ends kind of amazing). The Twenty-One Balloons, William Pene du Bois (reread, childhood favorite!). The Hired Girl, Laura Amy Schlitz. The War that Saved My Life, Kimberly Brubaker Bradley (lowkey was in tears finishing this one). The Berlin Boxing Club, Robert Sharenow. Soar, Joan Bauer (felt very personal). Salt to the Sea, Ruta Sepetys (reread, MY FAVORITE BOOK EVER). When it Counts, Lauren Hopkins (yay finally). Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, J. K. Rowling (reread). I Got This, Laurie Hernandez (love her). Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, J. K. Rowling (reread). Scythe, Neal Shusterman (I wanted to see what all the hype was about–IT WAS FREAKING AMAZING). 13 total.

Writing: I worked on Angelica a whole bunch–it’s currently at about 16,300 words. I also finished up a seven thousand-word Harry Potter fanfic for Hannah’s birthday gift, which was so fun! I submitted to three magazines, entered four contests, wrote a personal essay on Alzheimer’s for a scholarship competition, and had two devotional-type articles published here and here.

Listening to: So Gone, John Legend. Lifeline and Wake and Energy, Hillsong Y&F. You’ll be Back, Jonathan Groff (Hamilton). Live Life, Zayde Wolf. Another Day of Sun and Someone in the Crowd, La La Land. Watch What Happens, Newsies. Spirit Move, Kalley Heiligenthal. Narnia soundtracks. You Will be Found, Dear Evan Hansen. Losing my Mind, covered by Jeremy Jordan (2:09–SO. GOOD. That’s why he shouldn’t be on Supergirl).

Grateful for: I’m grateful for the chance to get a Christian education–one of my (many) graded assignments this month was to write a paper on how to use mass media to evangelize to Hindus, and I think that’s cool. I’m grateful for my friends–I wrote letters for Valentine’s Day to 25-ish friends and little girls at church listing the things I like about them, and I have some really great friends! I’m grateful for sitting on the trampoline in 70 degree weather watching my 7-year-old perform songs from Moana for me (all I could think was LIN but she wouldn’t get that). I’m grateful for Harry Potter fanfics at writing group, and for evenings with my brother taking his friends home from baseball practice and then spontaneously making brownies and dancing around the kitchen, and for intense games of Whiffleball on a dark basketball court and for driving around at night listening to Lindsey Stirling with Brooke and for playing Boxcar Children with friends. The month ended with the worst anxiety attack I’ve had in a while, but the rest was pretty great.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
“Serving up a good time”

What did you do this month? What are you reading/writing/listening to/grateful for?

Leave a Reply

