Blogmas Day 22

Today I went to Helen with three of my best friends (be warned, this post is a photo dump!). Helen is a tourist attraction near my house in North GA; it looks like a Bavarian alpine town. I love it, and I’d never been there at Christmastime until today. In the car on the way up, we opened gifts.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The Christmas Shoppe was closed, but we still took pictures in the sleigh outside.

Next we went into some cute little boutiques.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Cari and Anna bought some clothes, and Brooke and I looked longingly at the price tags.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I don’t feel like getting up off the couch and taking a picture of it right now, but I bought a cute little wooden sign that says “Adventure is out there” over a picture of mountains. (It was on sale for $5–my cheapskate self was thrilled.) I don’t really have anywhere to put it right now, but I’m trying to think ahead to decorating a dorm room next year.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

One store had an entire room with things for fairy gardens–we were all thrilled out of our minds!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

We found a restaurant that satisfied all of our dietary needs and went in. We passed lunchtime experimenting with the new make-your-own-sticker feature on Snapchat and laughing hysterically about everything and nothing.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

At this point we had not even made it to Helen’s main street, so we headed down that way.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

All of our outfits somehow coordinated with various shades of gray and dark green.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

We made it out of the Hansel and Gretel Candy Shop without buying anything, which was quite an accomplishment.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The glassblowing shop is one of my favorites.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

One store had a “Check Your Love Meter.” You paid a quarter, stuck your finger in, and it spit out a number. The highest rating on the list was a 90, which meant “passionate.” I went first and got a 92. I was feeling pretty darn good about myself until Brooke and Cari got 113’s and Anna got a 170. A wasted dollar? Probably. But who cares. It was fun.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Cari and Anna went on a horse and carriage ride. Brooke and I, again wanting to save our money, wandered around in some other shops.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

It was such a fun day!! When I got home late in the afternoon, I tried valiantly to stay awake, but couldn’t do it. It’s almost 8 pm now, I slept from 5-7ish, and I haven’t eaten dinner yet–I should probably get on that, because not eating definitely worsens things for me. I still have a pretty bad headache, but today was so fun, it’s definitely worth it.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

For at the end of the day, we are all broken people in a broken world. Trying to see the good. Striving for faith. Longing to find some hope. Tear away all the trappings and this is it: an infant child in a dirty manger. This is it: love and grace that covers all. This is it: the marvel of marvels, that He would call us Beloved.

One thought on “Blogmas Day 22

  1. Pingback: Woodstock with Madeleine (Summer Bucketlist 2017!) – Now All I Know is Grace

Leave a Reply

