Blogmas Day 6

Okay okay okay, today has been VERY exciting for two specific reasons:

1) I GOT ACCEPTED TO MY DREAM COLLEGE!!!! I’m not going to name names because I don’t know yet if I’ll actually be able to go there–I’m waiting to see if I get scholarships–but I screamed and jumped around the house with my brother for a solid ninety seconds straight because it was EXCITING.

2) After months on months of telling myself that I shouldn’t write a novel right now, I’m too busy, I need to focus on short fiction, this and that and this and that… I broke.

I’M WRITING A NOVEL!!!!!!

Guys, it’s been WAY too long. It’s been six months since I’ve planned a novel (lol I ended up not writing it because school started and I died) and almost a year since I’ve actually written a novel (a 60,000-word YA contemporary fiction in 2015), so I’m a little out of practice. If you did NaNo this year (or any year) and you have any tips for me, drop them in the comments because I NEED HELP. I didn’t do NaNo this year because I had so much homework, and I was trying to focus on short fiction; but I was honestly super jealous of all you stressed-out people. Basically, I was stressing over rational equations and the carbon cycle and interest rates all month but I wanted SO badly to be stressing over character backstory and Pinterest novel aesthetics and hitting daily word counts. So how am I remedying this? I have a month of off school (mid-December to mid-January) and I’m using it to write the novel I didn’t write in November!! I’m just a little excited, can you tell? I’m also going to continue writing short fiction, and non-fiction, and blogging, and doing all the other things I do in life… so I’m more or less crazy. But we probably already knew that.

This will be a middle-grade book instead of the YA that I usually write. It’s a new challenge, but I’m excited about one thing in particular: my word goal is 30,000 instead of 60,000! I’ll just need to write a thousand words a day for four weeks (see? I can do math).

There’s not much on my Pinterest aesthetic board yet but please feel free to stalk it anyway. The graphic below pretty much sums up what I’m going for, though. There’s also not much on my playlist yet but I’m working on it, because that’s OBVIOUSLY the first and most important thing to do when you’re planning a novel. Right? Right. Mostly Out of the Woods covered by For King and Country, though. Like, I don’t think I need any more songs.

So, important stuff: this is a concept I came up with several years ago. I think I started writing it when I was younger, but it’s saved in a file type that I can’t open (and honestly it’s probably not that great because who actually would use stuff they wrote when they were twelve? Not me). I’m just going to take what I remember, work off of that and make it into something new.  My protagonist is named Libby Thatcher; she’s twelve years old, she has a sprinkling of freckles across her nose that look like constellations, and I absolutely love her. My main guy protag is named Finn and he’s this twenty-ish guy who comes into Libby’s life at a crucial time and kind of becomes her big brother. Libby lives in rural Appalachia in the 1970’s (I think?? All this is subject to change so don’t fall in love yet HAHA too late for me though) and this book will span one summer that changes her life, and Finn’s life, forever. Basically, it’s a conglomeration of all the good summer things: a swimming hole with a rope swing, popsicles, reading books in the hayloft, listening to baseball on the radio, and stargazing and constellations and the sky in general because it seems that I can’t write a story anymore without including any of that stuff. So.

I apologize for rambling on about my novel but it’s literally all I’ve thought about today. I did all the things on my to-do list (review choreography, study math, vacuum) and went to work, but I was simultaneously planning plot details in my head. Yup. And now I’m going to end this post in favor of planning more plot details.

Today I’m…

 

Grateful for: Rain, getting positive feedback on a short story, and planning Christmas gifts with people!

4 thoughts on “Blogmas Day 6

  1. Pingback: Blogmas 2017 Day 6 (surprising my friend) – Now All I Know is Grace

  2. Pingback: Writing Plan/Schedule/Goals: Summer 2017! – Now All I Know is Grace

  3. Pingback: Blogmas Day 12 – Now All I Know is Grace

  4. Pingback: Blogmas Day 7 – Now All I Know is Grace

Leave a Reply

