Blogmas Day 3

Here’s this thing that you probably already know about me if you’re reading this: I’m a writer. I am always, proudly, irrevocably a writer, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. Sometimes this looks like writing devotions at my desk with coffee to submit to various magazines because I plan to make a living through these things we call words; sometimes this looks like plugging away at my novel(s), trying doggedly to reach that 60,000 word mark, because for years and years my dream has been to be an author; sometimes this looks like scribbling words in a notebook that perhaps no one will ever see–even though it’s close to midnight and my handwriting is getting messier and my words, rawer–because they’re words that I can’t not write down. Because I am meant to write. Sometimes I think, should I even try to explain to people what words mean to me? How they keep me up at night and won’t leave me alone unless I get out of bed and feverishly scribble them down? How much I savor them and long for them? It’s the funniest thing: as much as I love them, I don’t have them for some things. For this. But I know there are other people like me in the world–lovers of words–so here are mine, because I want to connect with you.

 

In other news, my family got our tree and decorated for Christmas today!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Hi my name is Hailey and I have a thing for messy ponytails, XL flannels, and Christmas trees (fake tree fake Christmas amirite??).

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

“Can I photobomb?”

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I promise Joshua was more excited about decorating the tree than he looked in this picture.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Every year, Joshua and I each get a new ornament from our parents. This year, mine is a stack of books with a cup of coffee next to them.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

This afternoon when we finished decorating, I was feeling exhausted and not that great–probably due to cheating on my diet and having quite a bit of pumpkin pie so far this weekend. Sometimes you just gotta do it though, right? I spent most of the afternoon in bed studying for my marine biology final, listening to the Charlie Brown theme coming from the kitchen where my mom was baking, and writing out a list of words I like. Because, you know, I’m a writer.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

There’s still space on the card–what are some of your favorite words? Drop them in the comments, fellow word lovers. 🙂

 

Today I’m…

Reading: Summer of 1999. I’m so happy I stumbled upon Olivia’s blog–her words are absolutely the most beautiful things I think I’ve ever read. Just go poke around a bit–you’ll thank me later.

Grateful for: After a few hours in bed, I felt well enough to get in a quick circuit workout while watching The Brady Bunch and then get some choreography polished up for drama rehearsal tomorrow. My church does a children’s Christmas musical each year, and I choreograph the songs and then teach the motions to the kids; next week is tech week, meaning you’ll probably be hearing more than you want to hear about this musical!

Final thoughts: go out of your way to serve others tomorrow! Smile a little extra, listen a little longer, and try to be like Jesus a little harder. I’ll be doing the same.

4 thoughts on “Blogmas Day 3

Leave a Reply

