The Bookish Book Lover’s Tag

This is not the kind of post I normally do, but when the tag showed up in my WordPress feed from http://www.thrivinghope.wordpress.com, it looked like so much fun that I just couldn’t pass it up! If you know me, you know that I’ve always had a borderline unhealthy love for reading and books (although, is it really even possible to have an unhealthy love of books?), so this tag is right down my alley.

bookish book lover tag.jpg

1) What book are you currently reading?

Dolphin Diaries by Dr. Denise L. Herzing. I’ve actually been reading it since mid-June, I think; I don’t normally do this, but I keep setting it down, reading another book, and not picking it up again until a few weeks have passed. I literally have five pages left. Dolphin communication is really interesting stuff, so I’m not sure why I keep abandoning it. Sorry, Dr. Herzing.

I also started Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis on the plane home, but I was too sleepy to focus. I found it again a couple of days ago, and it’s next up. You know, after those last five dolphin pages. 😉

dolphin

2) What was the last book you finished?

Either Anne of the Island by L. M. Montgomery, or Escape from Warsaw by Ian Serraillier. I reread both of them this week, but I can’t remember which one was first. They’re both excellent.

3) What is your favorite book you’ve read this year?

That’s like asking a mother to choose her favorite child. I’m not even going to try to answer this. We could be here for a while.

4) What genre have you read the most this year?

Probably historical fiction. I love historical fiction. This year I’ve actually branched out into dystopian, though–something I never saw myself enjoying, but now I’m obsessed. I read The Hunger Games series, the Divergent series, The Maze Runner series, and The Mortal Instruments series for the first time this late winter/early spring and loved them all. These are all popular series that I had been hearing about for years, but I avoided them because I didn’t think I would like them. I was so wrong. What I didn’t take into account is that the reason people love these books so much is because of the characters–because Suzanne Collins, Veronica Roth, James Dashner, and Cassandra Clare are absolute geniuses at creating characters that stay in your mind and heart long after the books are finished. Although I’m kind of late to the party in most cases, I’m glad I waited to read these books, because I was able to read each series in a matter of days versus waiting a year or two for the next book. 🙂

katniss.gif
Me when Finnick died. Oh, and when Prim died. And Rue. And when I finished the series…
divergent
Me at the end of Allegiant. I literally sobbed. I’m not gonna give out any names in case someone else is late to the party, but–chapter 50. You know what I’m talking about, people.
maze runner.gif
A summary of The Maze Runner series.

5) What genre do you want to read more of?

I’d like to begin reading more biographies.

6) How many books have you read this year, and what is your goal?

I record my books according to the school year, not the calendar year. So, in the last 12 months, I have read 173 books. I don’t have a goal, but if I did it would be much larger than that. I’ve spent much of my time reading textbooks lately, so my list is not as expansive as I would like. 🙂

IMG_1990-2

7) What’s the last book you bought?

Wild and Free by Jess Connolly and Hayley Morgan. Ladies: YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK. It absolutely changed my life. I can’t say enough about it.

8) What books are you saving up to buy next?

My parents gave me a coupon for three books for my birthday. They bought me Finding our Balance by Lauren Hopkins when it came out this spring, and I’m anxiously waiting for the other two books of the trilogy to come out. If you’re a hardcore gym fan like me, Finding our Balance is a must-read, especially now that Rio is somehow less than a week away (!!). Lauren, who runs thegymter.net, knows not only how to tell a story but also all the ins and outs of what elite gymnastics is really like.

balance.jpg

9) How many books did you last check out from the library?

40ish a few weeks ago. Sadly, I’ve been so busy that half of them are still sitting in my room waiting to be read.

10) What’s a book you can’t wait to read?

I want to reread the Betsy books by Maud Hart Lovelace! I’m also anxiously waiting for the second Magnus Chase book (The Hammer of Thor) by Rick Riordan to come out. October 4th–I literally have it written on my planner. 🙂

11) What’s a series or book you recommend to everyone?

After the War, Carol Matas. The Green Glass Sea and White Sands, Red Menace by Ellen Klages. The Lions of Little Rock by Kristen Levine. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’engle and all the ones that come after it. My Vicksburg by Ann Rinaldi. Seven by Jen Hatmaker. The Chosen by Chaim Potok. Uprising by Margaret Peterson Haddix. Under the Baseball Moon by John H. Ritter. There are so many more, but I’ll leave it at that for now.

glass sea

baseball.jpg

chosen

vicksburg.jpg

12) Who is an author that you hope writes more?

I honestly can’t really think of anyone.

13) A few books your heart adores:

See the answer to question #11. 🙂

14) What series conclusion makes you sad?

The ending of The Hunger Games makes me sad because everyone is so emotionally damaged. I do appreciate that aspect of those books, because it was true to life–some stories that involve war and trauma say that the characters live “happily ever after,” which you know couldn’t be true if they were real people. But it’s still sad to me.

The ending of the Lucy series by Nancy Rue makes me sad just because there weren’t any more. Yes, I know they’re FaithGirlz books, and adding a to any word that should have an instantly makes it incredibly juvenile–but I don’t care how old I am, I will never stop loving those four books.

15) What books do you have on your wishlist?

None, really. In reading back over my list from the last year, I see several books I’d like to reread, but I either already own them or I’ll just get them from the library. I love owning books, but I’m also a cheapskate, so thankfully we have such a thing as public libraries. 😉

 

This was so much fun! I tag anybody who wants to do it. Just use the banner, answer the questions, and use lots of book covers. None of the photos used are mine except for the one of me. 😉

2 thoughts on “The Bookish Book Lover’s Tag

Leave a Reply

